Inside Boonshoft newsletter masthead

  December 9, 2013

Volume 2, Issue 4 

Michael Leffak, Ph.D.Michael Leffak, Ph.D., named interim chair of Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine has named Michael Leffak, Ph.D., interim chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology.

“With his many years of dedicated service and his long track record of NIH-funded research, Dr. Leffak is an excellent choice for interim chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology,” said Marjorie Bowman, M.D., M.P.A., dean of the Boonshoft School of Medicine.

Prior to his appointment, Leffak served as vice chair of the Department of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, where he is a full professor. His primary research interests include the mechanism of DNA replication initiation and pathogenic DNA damage during replication in human cells. Leffak succeeds former department chair Steven Berberich, Ph.D., who has been appointed associate provost for faculty and staff affairs at Wright State University.

Read more »

Bette Sydelko receives Distinguished Librarian of the Year Award

Bette Sydelko, Ph.D.The Midwest Chapter of the Medical Library Association recognized Bette S. Sydelko, M.S.L.S., M.Ed., AHIP, with the 2013 Distinguished Librarian of the Year Award at its annual meeting in October in East Peoria, Ill.

Sydelko, coordinator of assessment and outreach and a clinical medicine librarian with University Libraries at Wright State University, has been instrumental in advancing the skills of WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine students in the domain of evidence-based medicine and clinical decision-making. She has worked to improve consumers’ health information skills by presenting to advisory board meetings and educating organizational partners. She also has written numerous book reviews of medical reference resources, contributed to publications on medical library tools and services and developed curricula for evidence-based medicine.

The chapter also recognized Sydelko for being a superb mentor, encouraging those new to the profession and serving as a positive role model for them.

Read more »

student award winners

Awards ceremony recognizes student, faculty excellence

Boonshoft School of Medicine recognized outstanding students and excellent teachers at the 16th Annual Student and Teaching Excellence Awards ceremony on Nov. 7, 2013. The Teaching Excellence Award winners, chosen by medical students, were John Donnelly, M.D., professor of family medicine; Karen Kirkham, M.D., associate professor of internal medicine; Paul Koles, M.D., chair and associate professor of pathology; and Larry J. Ream, Ph.D., vice chair and associate professor of neuroscience, cell biology and physiology.

Read more »

Boonshoft School of Medicine presents awards to outstanding teachers, mentors

Excellence sealThe Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine recognized several faculty members on Nov. 19 at its annual Faculty Awards event, which highlights the importance of teaching within the medical school and recognizes those who exhibit a strong commitment to teaching while serving as a role model to students, residents and colleagues. Awards were presented to Amanda L. Bell, M.D., Ann E. Burke, M.D., Merrilee I. Cox, M.D., Ranjana Sinha, M.D., M.H.A., Timothy C. Cope, Ph.D., Paul G. Koles, M.D., Mark M. Rich, M.D., Ph.D., Robert M. Custer, M.D., Craig A. Horn, M.D. and Richard Nockowitz, M.D.

Read more »


Students win statewide Doctor’s Dilemma® for second consecutive year

For the second consecutive year, three fourth-year medical students from the Boonshoft School of Medicine won the statewide student Doctor’s Dilemma® contest at the 2013 Ohio Chapter Scientific Meeting of the American College of Physicians on Oct. 10, in Columbus. Luke Andera, Robert Beaulieu and Doug Laurain (shown from left, above) competed against other medical student teams from Northeast Ohio Medical University, Ohio State University College of Medicine, Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine and University of Cincinnati College of Medicine. Because the Wright State team won the student competition, it was allowed to compete in the first round of the resident competition, which it also won.

Read more »

Scarlett Boulos, M.D., and Catherine UlmanResident, student recognized in Ohio Dermatological Association Annual Meeting poster competition

A Boonshoft School of Medicine resident and a fourth-year medical student received awards for first and third place, respectively, in the poster competition at the 2013 Ohio Dermatological Association Annual Meeting in October in Columbus, Ohio.

Scarlett Boulos, M.D., a first-year resident in the Dermatology Residency Program, received first place for her poster “Clinical Presentation, Immunopathology, and Treatment of Juvenile Onset Mycosis Fungoides: A Case Series of 34 Patients.” Additional contributors to Boulos’ poster were Reena Vaid, M.D.; Tariq N. Aladily, M.D.; Doina S. Ivan, M.D.; Rakhshandra Talpur, M.D.; and Madeleine Duvic, M.D.

Catherine Ulman, a fourth-year Boonshoft School of Medicine student, received third place for her poster “Herpes Zoster in a 2-Year-Old Vaccinated Against Varicella.” Coauthors of her poster were Julian J. Trevino, M.D., professor and chair of the Department of Dermatology, and Rishi K. Gandhi, M.D., co-chief resident in the Boonshoft School of Medicine Dermatology Residency Program.

Read more »

Bill Elder testifying

Student William Elder Jr. testifies in a congressional briefing about new drug

Before starting Kalydeco™, the first oral drug that treats the underlying cause of cystic fibrosis, medical student William Elder Jr. had lost most of his sense of smell and suffered from debilitating sinus headaches due to the disease. His lung function was slowly beginning to decline, leading to serious lung infections. The drug changed his life.

“The speed with which Kalydeco was approved has completely changed my life. If it had taken even a year longer, I would have had a much more difficult time staying healthy as a first-year medical student,” the Stanford University graduate said in testimony before a congressional briefing in July.

Read more »