Inside Boonshoft newsletter masthead

  October 3, 2013

Volume 2, Issue 2 

Boonshoft School of Medicine adopts five-year strategic plan

The Boonshoft School of Medicine has charted its course for the next five years with the adoption of a new strategic plan. The plan was approved by the medical school’s executive committee on August 1, 2013. Development of a new strategic plan was undertaken as part of the university-wide strategic planning process to determine the path for Wright State University through 2018.

The medical school strategic plan, “Improving Health through Exceptional Academics, Research, Social Commitment, and Community Engagement,” sets strategies and tactics to achieve five specific goals over the course of five years.

“The strategic plan lays the foundation for all of our activities over the next half decade,” said Dean Marjorie Bowman, M.D., M.P.A.. “This plan will allow us to strategically maximize our efforts in the five core areas of education, research, patient care, community engagement, and resource management.”

Read more »

Julian G. Cambronero, Ph.D., named Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research

Julian Cambronero, Ph.D.Julian Gomez-Cambronero, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry and molecular biology, has been named the Brage Golding Distinguished Professor of Research.  

Named after Wright State’s first president, the award recognizes outstanding research by a Wright State faculty member. The title Distinguished Professor of Research is a special rank awarded by the WSU Board of Trustees to a faculty member who has produced a significant body of work in scholarship, research or the creative arts, which brings distinction to the university and national or international recognition to the faculty member.

Cambronero and his research team have discovered a key protein that plays a critical role in the development of breast cancer tumors and the spread of the disease to the nearby lungs.

Read more »

Katherine Cauley, Ph.D., selected for Faculty Award for Excellence in Community Engagement

Katherine Cauley, Ph.D.Wright State University recognized Katherine Cauley, Ph.D., director of the Center for Health Communities at the WSU Boonshoft School of Medicine, with the 2013 Faculty Award for Excellence in Community Engagement.

Recognized nationally as an expert and educational leader in the theory and practice of service, Cauley, a professor in the Boonshoft School of Medicine Department of Community Health and an associate professor in the Wright State University School of Professional Psychology, has worked to assist communities by integrating service learning into medical school curriculum.

“For more than 20 years at WSU, Dr. Cauley has worked tirelessly and selflessly to realize her dream of improving communities through service learning and molding students into more humanistic physicians in the process,” said Marjorie Bowman, M.D., M.P.A., dean of the medical school.

Read more »

Students receive AMA Foundation 2013 Physicians of Tomorrow Awards

Kyle Davis
Kyle Davis

The American Medical Association (AMA) Foundation recently named two Boonshoft School of Medicine students recipients of the 2013 Physicians of Tomorrow Award.

Kyle Davis was one of 15 recipients nationwide to receive the Physicians of Tomorrow Award, while John Corker was one of two recipients to receive the Johnson F. Hammond, M.D., Physicians of Tomorrow Award for medical journalism.

Davis and Corker each received a $10,000 scholarship to defray medical school expenses. Recipients were nominated by their medical schools and chosen based upon academic achievement and financial need.

John Corker
John Corker

Read more »

Medical school earns Accreditation with Commendation for its continuing medical education

ACCME logo The national Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education (ACCME®) awarded the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine Continuing Medical Education (CME) Accreditation with Commendation at its July meeting. Accreditation with Commendation is awarded nationally to only a few CME providers that demonstrate compliance in 22 criteria. The ACCME commended the medical school for meeting the accreditation requirements and for demonstrating that it is a learning organization and a change agent for the physicians served in the Miami Valley.

Read more »

Translational Research Development Grant Program established

Arthur Pickoff, M.D.Arthur S. Pickoff, M.D.

Boonshoft School of Medicine will launch a new internal funding mechanism in the 2013-14 academic year. The Translational Research Development Grant Program will provide a mechanism to link basic scientists with clinician-investigators, according to Arthur S. Pickoff, M.D., interim associate dean for research affairs. It will promote, cultivate and establish innovative translational clinical research programs that have a high probability of attracting external funding and/or have potential for the generation of intellectual property and commercialization.

Proposals must identify at least one basic scientist and one clinician-investigator as co-principal Investigators. The program is open to all Boonshoft School of Medicine fully-affiliated faculty members and clinicians affiliated with Wright State Physicians. Collaborating basic scientists may be faculty members within the School of Medicine or external to the School of Medicine (e.g., College of Engineering).

Read more »

Sabrina Neeley, Ph.D., M.P.H., selected to be a Gold Humanism Scholar at Harvard Macy Institute

Sabrina Neeley, Ph.D.The Arnold P. Gold Foundation selected Sabrina Neeley, M.A., Ph.D., M.P.H., director of the Physician Leadership Development Program at Boonshoft School of Medicine, as one of eight Gold Humanism Scholars at the Harvard Macy Institute 2014 Program for Educators for her proposal to advance humanism in medicine. Neeley, assistant professor of community health, will join a select group of 60 participants for an 11-day in-residence session in January and a six-day in-residence session in May at the Harvard Macy Institute.

As a Gold Humanism Scholar, Neeley will develop a series of Objective Standardized Clinical Education (OSCE) materials focusing on assessing professionalism and humanistic behaviors. A humanistic caregiver is one who demonstrates respect for a patient’s concerns and provides compassionate care for a patient’s physical and emotional well-being.

Read more »

Boonshoft School of Medicine welcomes the class of 2017

Convocation for the class of 2013Boonshoft School of Medicine welcomed 104 new students during the annual Convocation and White Coat Ceremony at the Schuster Performing Arts Center in downtown Dayton on July 28. This year’s White Coat Ceremony was dedicated to Robert P. Turk, M.D., clinical professor of surgery emeritus, for his tireless service to Boonshoft School of Medicine students and residents, and his steadfast commitment to the ceremony since its inception.

Students in the class of 2017 were carefully selected from a group of 4,400 applicants, a record number for the medical school. Fifty-four percent are women, while 46 percent are men. They speak many of the world’s languages including Spanish, Chinese, French, Italian, Polish, Vietnamese, Portuguese, Pennsylvania Dutch, Japanese, Urdu, Hindi, Greek, Arabic, Gujarati and Korean. One student speaks five languages — English, Spanish, Hebrew, Russian and Yiddish.

Read more »