Department of Psychiatry

William M. Klykylo, M.D., Interim Chair

Ryan Peirson, M.D.

Assistant Professor of Psychiatry
Director, Division of Community Psychiatry
Chief Clinical Officer, Montgomery County Alcohol Drug Addiction and Mental Health Services Board

Wright State University School of Medicine
Department of Psychiatry
P.O. Box 927
Dayton, Ohio 45401-0927

Phone: (937) 223-8840
Fax: (937) 223-0758


M.D.: University of Washington School of Medicine, Seattle, 1998-2002
Residency: University of Vermont/Fletcher Allen, 2002-2006
Fellowship: Charles E. Steinberg Fellow in Psychiatry and the Law, University of Rochester, 2006-2007


American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Psychiatry, 2008
American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Forensic Psychiatry, 2009

Academic Interests

Criminal Responsibility & Competence
Psychiatric Autopsy
The Interaction of Psychiatry and the Law
Clinical Assessment for non-Treatment Purposes
Organizational Healthcare Delivery  (Patient Safety & Medicine as a High-Reliability System)
Mental Illness Prevention

In the News

Dr. Peirson has appeared on television news stories discussing synthetic drugs, a major public health concern.