Department of Geriatrics

Larry W. Lawhorne, M.D., Chair

Geriatric Medicine Fellowship Program

Dr. Swedlund
Steven Swedlund, M.D., Director

The Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine Geriatric Medicine Fellowship established in 2008 is structured to train physicians to be leaders in caring for the elderly.

The fellowship curriculum includes 4-week rotations in rehabilitation, hospice and palliative care, women’s health, long term care/skilled nursing/medical direction, and inpatient geriatric medicine. There is integrated longitudinal experience in ambulatory geriatric assessment, continuity home care, continuity nursing home care, neurology, geriatric psychiatry, and scholarly activity. There is one 4-week period to be used as an elective.

Two fellows are accepted annually and are expected to start in July; however, accommodations for off-cycle trainees will be considered. Applications for the fellowship are accepted through ERAS, with the timetable available on the NRMP website.