Department of Dermatology

Julian J. Trevino, M.D., Chair


Department News

  • Dermatology resident Jonathan Staidle, M.D., has been chosen by the International Affairs Committee of the American Academy of Dermatology to receive an international society meeting travel grant for the European Academy of Dermatology and Venereology’s Annual Meeting, Oct. 8-12, 2014, in Amsterdam, Netherlands.
  • Reactions to spider bites can range from minor skin irritations to life-threatening situations, according to chair Julian Trevino, M.D., who spoke at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Dermatology. But, contrary to popular opinion, the number of encounters and deaths attributed to brown recluse spiders is greatly exaggerated. Read more.


Welcome to the Department of Dermatology at the Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine. Whether you are a patient, medical student, resident or physician, we hope this web site helps answer your questions. Your comments and feedback are appreciated.

The primary objectives of the Department of Dermatology are to:

  • Serve as role models for excellent, compassionate dermatologic care;
  • Train dermatologists who will be lifelong learners and teachers;
  • Provide outstanding training to our entire community of learners; and
  • Improve the identification, treatment and prevention of skin diseases.

Since its inception more than 30 years ago, the Wright State Dermatology Residency Program has trained 61 dermatology residents. Of the alumni, approximately one quarter chose to pursue additional training beyond their dermatology residency. Five of the last 12 residents successfully completed postgraduate fellowship training.

The Department of Dermatology consists of nine participating faculty members. In addition, five voluntary dermatologists from the Miami Valley lend their expertise to our residency training program. There are currently six residents, two in each year, in our three-year program.