2014 Research Symposium at White Hall

2014 Medical Student Research Symposium

The 6th annual Medical Student Research Symposium at Wright State University Boonshoft School of Medicine was held April 10, 2014 in White Hall on the WSU main campus. The symposium began with welcoming remarks and presentation of the 2014 Distinguished Scholar Awards. A poster reception with 40 student research posters followed  in the White Hall Atrium. See the program for the list of poster presenters.

The annual Distinguished Scholar award is presented to the fourth year student or students who have demonstrated a continued commitment to medical scholarship. Distinguished Scholars are recognized for generating a significant body of scholarly work, for working collaboratively with students and faculty, for demonstrating leadership in the Research Learning Community, and for advancing student research at the Boonshoft School of Medicine.  The Medical Student Research Club presented 2014 Distinguished Scholar Awards to Robert Beaulieu; Gabrielle Horstman, Ph.D.; Ann Imber, Ph.D.; and Catherine Ulman.

The symposium was organized by the Wright State Medical Student Research Club with support from the Boonshoft School of Medicine Office of Research Affairs. The club was established in 2007. The group plans a series of meetings, lectures and workshops every year to introduce student researchers and potential faculty mentors and help students to develop research experiences during their medical education. Programming includes the Translational Research Lecture Series and culminates in April with the annual Medical Student Research Symposium. For more information about the Research Club, contact Adam Deardorff (deardorff.2@wright.edu).