Gain Real-World Experience

in Seven Diverse Teaching Hospitals

As a community-based medical school, Wright State is affiliated with seven major teaching hospitals and more than 20 other health care institutions throughout the Dayton region. Rather than receiving clinical training in a single location, you will encounter a diverse range of patients, practices, and facilities, giving you invaluable "real world" experience to prepare you for a successful career in our dynamic health care system. As a graduate of Wright State, you will enter the field of medicine with a distinct advantage, and your skills, confidence, and experience will serve you exceptionally well as a resident, fellow, and practicing physician.

Our community engagement also goes far beyond our clinical affiliations. At the Boonshoft School of Medicine, we embrace a profound dedication to service and strive to graduate physicians who aspire to make a real difference in the world. In fact, we were recently recognized for the strength of our social mission in a national study published in the Annals of Internal Medicine. Based on the percentage of graduates who practice primary care, work in health professional shortage areas and are underrepresented minorities, the study of 141 U.S. medical schools ranked Wright State fourth in the nation for this commitment.

Learn more about our…

Eight Great Reasons for Choosing Wright State

Whether you’re ready to apply to medical school or just beginning to explore your options, we’re excited that you’ve found the Boonshoft School of Medicine. This page will lead you quickly to the information and answers you need while giving you a sense of what makes our school — from our exceptional students and faculty to our innovative programs and state-of-the-art facilities — special.

community-based support curriculum facilities research service residency location